A Navy Mans Treasures From Japan

These are some of the treasures my father brought back from Japan while he was in the Navy in the early 50’s and 60’s, I believe this is a Japanese San-Pan? When my father passed away, us kids each got a couple of the Japanese nic knack’s, these are mine.  Not one of us could ever remember a Fisherman that should of sat in this little boat, but both oars have survived over all these years with the help of crazy glue!

I’m trying to find someone to tell me what this little boat is made of? I included a picture of the boat’s base if that is any help? I know it’s made of bone, but of what animal? If anyone can answer my question I would really appreciate it!

The other item is an Ivory elephant, it’s not big, only a couple inches tall, I chose it because when I was 9 yrs old we went to the Alberta Game Farm and at that time, they had an Elephant that you could get rides on so of course I had to try it, I think there was 2 or 3 little kids at a time on the Elephant and I just loved it because I was in the front! My father took pictures which he turned into slides.

My older brother ( of 2 yrs.) lay claim to the slides in which we all sat around and looked at, the one and last night we’d all be together.  The next day my brothers were off on a plane home, and so went the slides.  A couple years went by and I asked my brother if he could make a photo out of that one slide (of me on Elephant) and send it to me, well he told me my oldest sister supposedly pilfered the slides before he packed and went home, she  keep the ones that meant more to my  brothers and I then to her…..long story.

Anyways, let me know what you think of my pieces! I’d love to hear what you have to say!

Cheers!

Image

ImageImage

Live,Love,Laugh, and eat lots of icecream!

