The Lion Roars

The old lion raised his slumberous mangy head from the limb of his Kauri tree, I stopped dead in my tracks, I knew he saw me, I prepared for the unforgiving wrath to be set down upon me. Instead he smiled and laughed.

His pride sauntered towards their shady tree, along the prickly path.

With a wink of his eye, and a swish of his tail, the pride swung around and pounced on me in a flash.

Putrid, rotting hot breath and razor sharp teeth sank deep into my flesh over and over again, the pain so unbearable, the heat of the dessert sun baking through my body all the way into my soul. The nerves in my body  all electrostatically charged, causing more pain and torture!

I don’t know how long I lay there but I managed to slowly  open my eye’s, there was nothing but blur… Slowly my eye’s came into focus, purple? blue? my damaged skin?

The Lion Inside
The Lion Inside

Where was I? a hospital? a morgue? I just couldn’t clear my head  until I heard a very close, low chesty rumble coming  from an animal that I sensed by it’s heat  it  lay close beside me.  I hesitantly reached out beside me, not knowing if my hand would ever come back with all digits, I touched the breathing form that lay beside me, anxiety and pain pulsed through my body but when the creature raised it’s head sleepily and looked at me I breathed a sigh of relief as 2 big lovable pools of  brown eyes lay upon me   Oh… my beloved dog, how his cute loveable face was a feast to my eye’s.  It brought me back to the here and now. The lions tearing at my flesh,  was a dream but the pain in my body that woke me was real.

Live,Love,Laugh, and eat lots of icecream!

