Saving a Beauty, A Swallow Tailed Butterfly….. from Dora the Explora

DSCF1012
I gently nudged it’s wing so it would open them up, to help them dry. It was then I discovered my Butterfly was a Swallow Tail, the first I’ve ever come across!
DSCF1005
We Looked at each other, eye to eye, with the understanding I wasn’t going to hurt it, but only wanting to take it’s picture and help it survive it’s journey.

I stepped out on my my porch tonight just as the sun was getting ready to set, it has been over 35c for the past 5 days and the early evening had promise of cooling.  The wind had picked up as the day stretched on, and when I  thought I saw a large leaf floating in the pool, my little Dora the Explorer wading pool set up in my front yard for my dogs, I took a closer look because no leaf around here had that odd pattern. My heart dropped when I saw it was a Butterfly……                        All it wanted was a drink of water….Dora Explora         I gently lifted the Butterfly out of the pool when I realised it was still alive, I placed it on top of one of the Aeoniums in my garden, hoping it would have time to dry before it was too dark and to late to fly away.DSCF1008

DSCF1006

I gently nudged it's wings apart so it would have a chance to dry them before  the sun set and it got too dark.
I gently nudged it’s wings apart so it would have a chance to dry them before the sun set and it got too dark. It was then I realised I had a Swallow Tailed Butterfly, the first I’ve ever seen.

Perfect ButterflyDSCF1019With It’s wings dried, it was ready to fly away……………..

Live,Love,Laugh, and eat lots of icecream!

