You Don’t Have To Be Married

Wow!  Halloween was my Hubby’s and I 26th year Anniversary!  I can’t believe it, it just seems like ……well a life sentence! lol.. No seriously, only about 5 yrs!

We’ve been through so much together, from Sickness and Health and back again for both of us, but neither of us once thought it was too much to handle too pack up and leave, to wimp away with our tails between our legs.

People thought we were a strange match and it would never last, but we had so much in common. Before we even met I think it was fate. We  met at where I worked and at first I turned him down, I got to know him slowly and it wasn’t long before we were smitten about each other.  It turned out he knew and hung out with all the same people I grew up and went to school with and all were so happy to have me back!

We’ve struggled from the day we met, from Richer to Poorer, but more like from Poorer over and over to one Richer, back to Poorer. We have rings, we never wear them because they spend most of the time in the Pawn Shop!

We get along fueled with tons of humour and never hiding our feelings, and if you can’t laugh at your self then who can you laugh at?  We’ve had only had 2 fights, and we’re each others best friend, companion, we listen and learn from each other, share each others dreams (Lotto Jackpot $5.5 mil ) and cherish each others uniqueness! But we  also enjoy our time apart.

He doesn’t hesitate at doing anything for me, he does the shopping ( I make the lists ) he’s our Launderette (only after I turned his undies pink), he’s the vacuum guy, dog walker, lawn mower, idea guy and works part-time even though he has major Osteoporosis in his hips, Dr’s say he needs a hip replacement but he’s too young for our health insurance to pay for it, he has liver damage from Hep C which he went through 2 yrs of painful drug therapy and finally beat, he’s had 10 surgeries on his Tibia (shin bone) which he broke sliding into 2nd base (not with me!) which causes him constant pain, the doctors when he was a kid told him he’d never run/walk because of a problem with his knee’s. He’s proven to all they were wrong! and makes sure I never want for anything….except a dishwasher I asked for, he brought me home a box of rubber gloves!

You are my best friend. I promise to laugh with you, cry with you, and grow with you. I will love you when we are together and when we are apart. I promise to support your dreams and to respect our differences, and to love you and be by your side through all the days and nights of our lives .I choose you. To stand by your side  To be joy to your heart and food for your soul. To learn with you and grow with you, even as time and life change us both. I promise to laugh with you in good times and struggle alongside you in bad times. I promise to respect you and cherish you as an individual, a partner, and an equal, knowing that we do not complete, but complement each other.

We’re not Legally married, we’re Common Law, we don’t need to proclaim our love for each other in front of any religious/non religious entity, we only need to love each other.

“I got gaps; you got gaps; we fill each others gaps.”!

                                              -Rocky Balboa (Rocky, the movie)

Me & Pat

4 thoughts on “You Don’t Have To Be Married

Live,Love,Laugh, and eat lots of icecream!

