Under-Pressure

Welcome to 2016!

When seeing the name of this post I can’t keep the song by David Bowe’ out of my head, sorry for the confusion! Good song though!

The day after New Years sitting here after our dinner tonight and after I checked our Lotto Ticket finding we won a whopping $20 ! Hubby says ” You know what? Even as broke and poor as we are, we really don’t have anything to complain about, we’ve got a reasonable roof over our heads, bills are partially paid, our car is paid for even if it is a piece of crap, we still have an uncooked Turkey in the freezer and food in the fridge.  We have warm clothes in the closet, blankets galore so we have it pretty damn good! Better then a lot.  We don’t really want for anything except  “things” and “things” just don’t feed you, they are material in life “!.  Hubby can sure turn around the feeling of being broke and depressed, I don’t know what I’d do without him!  Accept to be depressed, and eat the whole damn box of Whiskey filled Dark Chocolate!!   ( yes I have a box! and it’s all mine !).

I’ve been thinking a lot about the sister I never really knew, she kind of just disappeared from my life when I was 8 yrs. old.  This last week my sister-in-law found a newspaper article about my second oldest sisters death in 1978, until then I wasn’t sure of how she died.  At the age of 17 she was thrown from a  horse spooked by a vehicle, being thrown into it’s path.  She died in a place I had no idea about, Stoney Planes, Alberta, and she was with a companion the clipping said, so I put an ad on line looking for info from that area of Alberta hoping someone will remember or even the name of the companion, it’s been a lot of years so my hope is thin.

As I was searching for some info ( a picture of my sister ) tonight, I found a note I wrote down years ago which fit exactly what I am feeling and wanted to say tonight in a nut shell… It was written by Helen Keller, her it goes…………

When we long for life without difficulties, remind us that Oaks grow strong in contrary winds and diamonds are made under pressure.  Everything has it’s wonders, even darkness and silence, and I learn, whatever state I may be in, therein to be content.

Thank you all, see you in 2016

 

 

3 thoughts on “Under-Pressure

Live,Love,Laugh, and eat lots of icecream!

