“Watoto” Children’s Choir … Awesome

   OH WHAT LOVE  ♥

This was something out of the ordinary for me to go and see but when I read about it in the newspaper it just caught my attention…plus I had a bit of prodding from my hubby. He just wanted to kick me out of the house because I’ve become a hermit!

I  am not a religious person, nor do I believe in “A” God, but something pulled me to this concert and I was very, very surprised!  These children who are from an Orphanage in Uganda had so much energy you just couldn’t help but feel “uplifted“! I listened to the beat of the music and the voices of these children and became entranced in their enthusiasm!

They had been in Canada touring since January and had 4 shows left to do before going home to Uganda . Watoto ( Mean’s Children in Swahili ) is a holistic care program (Village) that was initiated as a response to the  overwhelming number of orphaned and vulnerable children and women in Africa. It rescues individuals and raises them as leaders in their chosen sphere of life so that they in turn will rebuild their nation. They are given physical care,medical intervention including HIV/AIDS treatment, education (formal and vocational), counseling, moral and spiritual discipleship. Now who can argue with that? Not me, I slipped a few dollars in their donation box without hesitation.

If you want to see them in action they have their Concert on: U-Tubehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0_J2uDyCKk

Here are a few photo’s I took …wishing I took more of the children after it was over at the meet and greet! If they are ever in your City or Town, you’ve got to go and see these kids, they are awesome! Many have gone on to get University degree’s!

Watoto singing (640x300).jpg

 

Watoto foot stomping (640x281).jpg
Foot Stomping Great Sound! I would go again if they ever came back!!

 

2 thoughts on ““Watoto” Children’s Choir … Awesome

Live,Love,Laugh, and eat lots of icecream!

